How to Get Compensation for a Hit-and-Run in Missouri
Hit-and-run accidents are car crashes where the negligent driver leaves the accident scene without exchanging information. There is a hit-and-run accident somewhere in the U.S. every 43 seconds. If you are involved in a hit-and-run in Missouri, there are two paths to compensation for your injuries.
You can work with the police and track down the other driver. If this is successful, you may recover damages from the negligent driver. If it isn’t possible to find the negligent driver, they are considered uninsured, and you must get compensation from your insurance company.
In both scenarios, contacting St. Louis car accident lawyers at Cofman Townsley is the best way to protect your rights. We know what evidence you need and have experience representing clients in insurance claim negotiations.
You have to locate the driver to get compensation for their negligence in a hit-and-run. Immediately after the accident, contact the police. Take photos and videos of the accident scene and collect any debris as they may help the police locate the other vehicle. The police can also use nearby cameras to assist in their investigation.
If the police find the other driver, you can sue them for your physical injuries and property damage. You need to prove that they were negligent and that their negligence caused your injury and property damage.
It is essential to collect all medical records and car repair records to document the damages the negligent driver caused. However, this can be overwhelming when recovering from a car accident. An experienced car accident lawyer at our law firm can handle these steps, letting you focus on your recovery.
Often, the negligent driver can’t be found, and you must get compensation for the accident through your insurance. Hit-and-run accidents fall under uninsured driver insurance policies.
To qualify for an uninsured driver claim, you must have uninsured motorist insurance, proof that you sustained injuries and that the hit-and-run caused the injuries.
Uninsured motorist insurance
Missouri law requires automobile insurance policies to include uninsured motorist insurance. The minimum coverage must pay out up to $25,000 for an injury to the insured caused by an uninsured motorist. It must pay out up to $50,000 when multiple people are injured in the insured vehicle. You can opt for higher payouts with different insurance plans.
Proof of Injury
Insurance companies often do not take your word about an injury and try to pay for less than you deserve. You need to provide them with overwhelming evidence that you sustained an injury in the hit-and-run accident.
Keep all medical records and get written doctor’s notes about the cause of your injury and the potential for long-term effects. Avoid posting about your injuries on social media to prevent the insurance company from using this information against you.
Financial damages due to the injury may be recoverable as well. If you lost wages or your job due to your injury, you may be due compensation for those losses. Since insurers are financially incentivized to limit their payout on your claim, it is in your best interest to protect yourself with legal representation.
Proof the hit-and-run caused your injuries
Document the accident scene with photos and videos of your car, written recollection of the event, and statements from eyewitnesses. Combined with your medical records, this evidence proves that the hit-and-run caused your injuries.
Missouri uses comparative fault when deciding on personal injury cases, which means that even if you are partially responsible for the accident, you may still be due compensation. Comparative fault reduces the amount of compensation you can recover in proportion to how much of the accident is your fault.
If an insurance company tries to blame you for an accident, then evidence and comparative fault laws may protect your right to collect compensation. Armed with significant evidence and legal representation, you are giving yourself the best chance at getting the compensation you deserve from the insurance company.
Hit-and-run accidents are horrible events that cause pain and suffering to the victims and their families. If you or someone you know has been in a hit-and-run accident, contact a St. Louis car accident lawyer at Cofman Townsley as soon as possible for a free consultation to review your legal options.
We can help get you the compensation you deserve, whether it’s from the negligent driver or your insurance company.